Now Accepting Applications For Up To $1500 In Finishing Funds

Philadelphia Independent Film and Video Association (PIFVA) will accept applications for this year’s Finishing Funds Grant Program, from March 30 through April 30, 2015. The individual grants provide up to $1,500 in support of the artistic merits of local independent filmmakers recognized as PIFVA members in good standing.

Supported by the Wyncote Foundation, PIFVA recipients will receive funds for services including editor consultation, fine cut editing, DVD authoring, website development, sound mixing, color correction and distribution planning.

Qualified filmmakers of all genres are encouraged to visit to submit their credentials and will be notified within a ninety-day window as to whether or not their film has been accepted by the non-profit.

A three person impartial jury composed of professionals who have dedicated their careers to the world of film will then evaluate all applicants to decide what films will receive the prized grant. The jury will be composed of: Diane Walsh, an associate professor in the Writing for Film and Television department at University of the Arts, Dave Jannetta, documentary filmmaker of Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere and Chris Emmanouilides, a programming executive and chief content writer for Vuneex.

Receiving finishing funds from PIFVA often results in a film getting noticed by other film communities. In 2014, Juror Dave Jannetta’s Love and Terror was granted finishing funds from the non-profit and premiered in numerous film festivals such as the Philadelphia Film Festival, the Big Sky Film Festival and the Traverse City Film Festival. The Happy Sad, a winner from 2013 and directed by Rodney Evans, has been showcased in more than thirty festivals including Frameline: San Francisco’s International Gay and Lesbian Film Festival. Both films received distribution.

Key members of PIFVA have acknowledged their excitement for the weeks ahead.

“PIFVA is enormously honored to have the opportunity to grant finishing funds to independent filmmakers in the region through the support of the Wyncote Foundation,” said PIFVA executive director Jackie Borock, “The program allows PIFVA to actually realize its mission statement in a genuine and immediate way by helping independent filmmakers complete their films for exhibition and distribution. PIFVA has been proud that so many recipients of this fund have gone onto have their films recognized, exhibited and distributed to a wider audience than just Philadelphia and tri-state area.”

“In this day and age, it’s almost unheard of to have independent filmmakers receive any type of funding, especially at the end of production, when they have most likely exhausted all their financial support and resources,” added PIFVA president Thom Cardwell, “PIFVA has been given the unique role of helping independent filmmakers at a time when they probably need money the most.”

Recipients of the 2014 PIFVA Finishing Funds Grant include: David Block, Horses Don’t Judge; Phil Carroll, The Road to Jericho; Davd Diperstein, Will to Live; Adam Evans, Pine Tree; Jacob Feiring, Samantha’s Amazing AcroCats; Rebecca Ferris, Can’t Stop the Water; Dom Hilton, Dizzy Fingers; Michael Johnston, A Man Full of Trouble; Tiona McClodden, Bumming Cigarettes; Jon Olshefski, After the Sound: PJ’s Story; David Romberg, Man of the Monkey; Israel Vasquez, Return to Yirol; Dan Zubrzycki and Isaac Ruth, A Matter of Propriety.

PIFVA is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) membership organization started by filmmakers whose mission is to strengthen, promote and serve Philadelphia’s independent media community through programs which provide opportunities to learn, mentor, produce and screen work, advocate for the community and network. PIFVA is dedicated to increasing the creative capacity of the Philadelphia region by supporting and expanding the work of regionally based media makers. PIFVA’s education programs promote public appreciation of independent media making and encourage the talent and ability of the area’s creative community of filmmakers.